Comments are disabled because of the huge volume of spam that I receive. But you are welcome to send your comments, opinions, and suggestions to fb@pegasusbookclub.com.

Please write the name of the book your are commenting in the subject line. If it is a general comment then please write 'General' in the subject line.

Golden Buddha

Golden Buddha is the first book of the Oregon File series. The Oregon Files are a group of novels written by Clive Cussler and Craig Dirgo. The books follow the mysterious “Corporation” and its leader Juan Cabrillo. The “Oregon Files” come from the name of the boat on which the series is based—The Oregon.

The Oregon is a high-tech ship owned by the Corporation. It is disguised as a rusty old tramp steamer, to add to its appearance of authenticity this disguise is highly detailed; including a fake mess hall, a captain’s cabin with smoke infused substances, a dysfunctional toilet, and a painting of a depressing velvet clown. In reality it is a state-of-the-art ship with high-tech weaponry that would match the most advanced battle ship in the world and the luxury facilities that are on par with the best in the world.

In Golden Buddha, Juan Cabrillo embarks on his first mission in ‘The Oregon Files’. The team is hired to find and recover a stolen statue, the Golden Buddha, stolen in 1959 from the Dalai Lama. The success of the team will determine the future of Tibet. Whilst playing the Russians off against the Chinese, the team must put their lives at risk in order to complete the mission. In their state-of-the-art vessel, disguised as a rusting heap of junk, they sail from Cuba to Macau, and there the team use their cunning and wit to outsmart a billionaire—Stanley Ho—and the Macau police. They also swindle a 100 million dollars worth of bonds from billionaire Marcus Friday and convince the UN to ratify the military coup in Tibet.

An interesting book with non stop action. A must read for the Clive Cussler fan.

Book Details:

  • Author: Clive Cussler and Craig Dirgo
  • Publisher: Berkley
  • Year: 2003
  • ISBN: 9780425191729
  • Cover & Page Count: Hardcover, 432 pages